top of page
Writer's pictureA. K Therapy

Origins of Therapy Sherapy


This one time, a few relatives came over to visit. After the greetings and formalities, the dreaded question arose – “So what are you doing these days?” It can often get difficult communicating what I really do as a therapist, and why does the world need more of our kind (read narcissism).


As I begin my long and oft-repeated job description, my uncle interrupts – “The girl is in to ‘Therapy Sherapy’”, to which everyone looked at me and while nodding approvingly. “Oh, good work, good work”, one said.


I look at my mom and said “Therapy Sherapy?!?” The term almost has a lightness attached to it and a desi-ness that intrigues me.


A profession that’s all about complexity of human mind, human potential and layered with intricate emotions becomes Therapy Sherapy.


I call this – Indianization of my professional avatar. 🔥

20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

What is love? ♥️

A lot has been said about love. The idea of love, the emotion of love, the feeling of being in love, the heartbreak of forgetting a love,...

Post Midnight 🕛

You doze off and the world keeps spinning. After midnight, the pace of the world is a little different. Small cars and motorbikes have...

Changed my lenses 👓

I haven't written in a long time. Honestly, I could work to built a habit or force to do it. And here I am presenting this to the world....

1 Comment


Sriram Satish
Sriram Satish
Jan 14, 2022

He surely needs some therapy :)

Like
bottom of page