top of page
Writer's pictureA. K Therapy

What is love? ♥️

A lot has been said about love. The idea of love, the emotion of love, the feeling of being in love, the heartbreak of forgetting a love, and finally, the hope of finding the perfect love. I am no exception to this narration of love. I am a part of it, have contributed to it, have agreed with it, have fought it, and have finally given into the rhetoric of love, but with a slight hesitation. You see, I am bound to find enough things in life to fall in love with. Ice cream on sunny days, picnics on winter afternoons, the smell of a 125-year-old book, the smell of a new book. The feel of satin against my skin, the bark of a puppy trotting down the street, the voice of a friend who calls late into my night, the voice of my friend who makes me laugh no end. The perfect autumn breeze on a walk in the evening, a warm home cooked meal when I come home tired.Falling in love became accidental. Unpredictable, yet somehow routine. It’s weird, I know, but it’s wonderful too. We’ve gotten so used to Shah Rukh Khan chancing upon a lonely heart one fine day, that that idea has stuck with us. It’s made us believe that to fall in love we have to be lucky. That love won’t find its way to us unless we chance upon it. It’s almost as if love will only happen to us if we let go of who we are, where we are, and where we belong. That love is lurking in the street next to ours and if we don’t reach it fast enough, it will slink by us and we’ll lose it.But what if, what if, just for a second, we think of love, as a process, not a solution? What if, love is waiting on your table, happily ordering a drink you don’t like?


What if love is hidden in the pages of the 125-year-old book waiting to be discovered only if we open the book? If so, then to be in love, would be to see what makes you happy. What gives you peace, what makes you feel normal. To love what gladdens your heart and lightens your soul. What makes you feel like the sun shines from within you and lights up the only world you’ve ever known. Love becomes the truest thing that makes you feel safe from within and free and happy and unrestricted.I don’t know if this love is for everybody. I don’t know if this love is the right love. What I do know is that to be in love, you have to take out time for what makes you happy. To be in love you have to have the courage to accept that happiness. And to fall in love, you have to be willing to open the book and read it from start to finish.


XOXO

💋

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Post Midnight 🕛

You doze off and the world keeps spinning. After midnight, the pace of the world is a little different. Small cars and motorbikes have...

Changed my lenses 👓

I haven't written in a long time. Honestly, I could work to built a habit or force to do it. And here I am presenting this to the world....

Kommentarer


bottom of page